In short: business people

Michael Iasparro.
Tina Rittner.
Brenten Witherby.
Josh Houghton.
Two new Rockford Park District Commissioners, Martesha Brown and Tyler Smith, were officially sworn in at a recent meeting.
Two new Rockford Park District Commissioners, Martesha Brown and Tyler Smith, were officially sworn in at a recent meeting.

Departure of WREX Vice President / General Manager

ROCKFORD – WREX vice president and general manager Josh Morgan recently left the station for a new job in Atlanta.

Morgan’s last day was May 21. He accepted the position of Director of Digital Media at CBS46 (WGCL). His wife, former WREX host Kristin Crowley, recently accepted a position as an investigative reporter at 11Alive (WXIA) in Atlanta last month.

Morgan was CIO from 2013 to 2019, before becoming station manager, after which came his promotion to vice president / general manager in 2020.

During their time at WREX, the 13 News team won over 150 state, regional and national awards, including 21 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards, two National Murrow Awards, and a dozen Regional Emmy Awards.

Morgan has been replaced by Ed Reams, coming from his post as news director at WKOW in Madison, a sister station to WREX. He took over as interim CEO the day after Morgan left. Having been News Director at 27 News since 2014, Reams is an industry veteran, having worked at several stations across the country including WISN in Milwaukee, WHSV in Harrisonburg, Va., And WDSU in New Brunswick. Orleans.

WREX and WKOW, both owned by Quincy Media, were recently acquired by Allen Media. This acquisition is expected to close later this year.

Goodwill announces new members of the Board of Directors

ROCKFORD – Goodwill recently announced the appointment of three new board members, Julio Capeles, Michael Iasparro and Tina Rittner.

Capeles leads collaborative and strategic planning efforts for the development and continuous improvement of all programs and courses in the Adult Education Department at McHenry County College in Crystal Lake. Capeles holds a PhD in Sociology from the University of Illinois at Chicago, an MA in Sociology from New Mexico State University, and a BA in Sociology from the University of Puerto Rico. .

Iasparro joined Hinshaw & Culbertson LLP in 2008 after serving more than six years as the Assistant United States Attorney for the Northern District of Illinois. Iasparro has significant experience in complex litigation before state and federal courts, holds a JD from Marquette University Law School, a Bachelor of Science in Anthropology / Sociology from Rockford College and is a member of the Winnebago County Bar Association.

Rittner has over 20 years of human resources experience in the distribution and manufacturing industries and is passionate about providing the best work experience for members of the FIELD team. Rittner holds a bachelor’s degree in psychology and sociology from Illinois State University and is a senior certified human resources professional.

Blackhawk Bank Acquires Senior Vice President and Vice President

ROSCOE – Blackhawk Bank recently announced that Brenten Witherby, Senior Vice President of Commercial Banking, and Josh Houghton, Vice President of Commercial Banking, have joined the Blackhawk Bank Commercial Banking team at Roscoe Banking. Center.

With over a decade of experience in the financial industry, Witherby brings expertise in small business administration loans, business development and construction loans. He has established himself as a trusted lender thanks to his ability to develop relationships. He is currently a director of Rockford Local Development Corp. and director of the Rosecrance Foundation.

Houghton has worked in the financial industry for more than two decades, starting as a personal banker and working his way up to corporate banking. His experience in business development has helped him maintain relationships with clients and provide them with exceptional support. Houghton has been active in Winnebago County for several years and has been a member of the Rockton School Board since 2015, where he currently serves as Vice-President. In 2010, he received the 40 Leaders Under 40 designation by the Rockford Chamber of Commerce.

Northern Illinois Food Bank names Local Volunteer of the Year

ROCKFORD – The Northern Illinois Food Bank recently recognized seven volunteers for their extraordinary service over the past year, including Denise Ellison of Rockford, who received the bank’s Northwest Center Volunteer of the Year award. food in Rockford.

Ellison served over 1,000 hours sorting and packing food at Winnebago Community Market, the Northwest Center’s on-site pantry. She was first introduced to the food bank two years ago when she picked up food and was brought in to volunteer by a friend.

Rockford Park District Commissioners are sworn in

ROCKFORD – Two new Rockford Park District Commissioners, Martesha Brown and Tyler Smith, were officially sworn in at a recent meeting.

These two commissioners were elected at large within the Rockford Park district boundaries on April 6 and join Commissioners Jack Armstrong, Ian Linnabary and Scott Olson.

Smith is a resident of Rockford and has owned and operated Tyler’s Landscaping Inc. since 1987. He began as Commissioner of the Rockford Park District Council in 2009 and will begin his third term on the Park Board of Directors. Smith also sits on the board of directors of the Illinois Association of Park District.

Brown is a Rockford resident and the Director of Advancement for the Rockford Area Convention & Visitors Bureau. Brown was selected in October 2020 to fill a vacant seat.

The Rockford Park District Council of Commissioners is ultimately responsible for everything that happens in the Rockford Park District. Commissioners are volunteers elected usually for a six-year term without compensation to oversee and govern the district. The Council of Commissioners serves as the link between operations and the citizens of the district.

Comments are closed.